Table 1 The collaboration scenarios among Nile basin countries examined in this study.

No collaboration scenarioAll countries act individually
(current situation; business as
Partial collaboration scenarioEgypt and Ethiopia collaborate,
the East African community
collaborates (Kenya, Tanzania,
Uganda, Burundi, and Rwanda),
and the remaining countries
act individually (Sudan, South
Sudan, Eritrea, and DRC)
Full collaboration scenarioFull between-country
collaboration across the whole
Nile basin